Peru: Congress elects Constitutional Court magistrates | News | ANDINA

Lisa R. Parker

The Congress of the Republic has been able to muster the needed consensus to elect the six magistrates of the Constitutional Court docket (TC) so as to exchange these whose mandate had already expired.

By settlement of the Board of Spokespersons, it was not possible to current a debate or preliminary issues all through the plenary session on Tuesday. The candidates had been rated in buy of merit.

The initially to be elected was Francisco Morales Saravia, who will change Ernesto Blume Fortini. Morales been given 98 votes in favor, 21 in opposition to, and six abstentions.

Afterwards, Luis Gutierrez Ticse was elected with 97 votes in favor, 23 in opposition to, and five abstentions. He will replace Eloy Espinosa-Saldaña.

The new justice of the peace replacing Marianella Ledesma is Helder Dominguez. He been given 98 votes in favor, 19 versus, and 8 abstentions.

Likewise, Luz Pacheco Zerga was elected with 92 votes in favor, 26 from, and seven abstentions. She will substitute Manuel Miranda Canales.

Another not long ago elected magistrate is Manuel Monteagudo Valdez. He received 102 votes in favor, 14 versus, and eight abstentions. In this circumstance, he will change late magistrate Carlos Ramos Nuñez.

Ultimately, Cesar Ochoa Cardich was elected to swap Jose Luis Sardon. He attained 90 votes in favor, 23 from, and 10 abstentions.

On the other hand, non-grouped lawmaker Susel Paredes submitted four appeals for reconsideration of the votes obtained by Francisco Morales, Luis Gutierez, Helder Dominguez and Luz Pacheco, which ended up rejected as they did not achieve the vital votes.


Revealed: 5/10/2022

Next Post

Senate adopts impeachment rules | News

BY a vote of 5 to 3, the Senate on Thursday adopted the impeachment principles proposed by the Committee on Judiciary, Governing administration, Legislation and Federal Relations and the Committee on Govt Appointments and Governmental Polices. The principles were adopted as Senate Resolution 22-1, which was introduced by Senate President […]
Senate adopts impeachment rules | News

You May Like